My two cents, for what it’s worth…

…I understand about revolutions when people have had to put up with poverty, lack of jobs, political corruption and all the other “civilized” vices of the world. It’s part of what makes the world what it is, and has been going on for as long as humans have congregated. What I do not understand is this, why would you attack your heritage and destroy something that you can not recreate or bring back once your revolution has accomplished what it set out to do? Of course, I am talking about Egypt. I have no qualms with the people of the country trying to establish a better leadership for themselves, good for them. But, it makes me sad that some people went into the Egyptian Museum in Cairo and desecrated and destroyed two mummies. That is their history, their heritage and it is important. Destroying it does not make the government any better, nor will it make the government listen to them any more than it does. It only hurts the people when they destroy their own history.  I’ve seen rubbish hills on top of archaeological sites. I know, not every one takes archaeology as seriously as I do. But, you don’t understand why. I come from a people that didn’t care about their past and never bothered to keep track of it’s history, so they don’t know who their ancestors were nor if they were a decent people or criminals. It’s like being an orphan and never finding out who your biological parents were. Therefore, I find it sad when people who do know of their ancestry and have a vast historic background, yet take it so lightly as to be able to destroy it with ease. I know, emotions run high when your in a crowd looting your neighbors and looking for a fight to get out your anger and heartache, but try to restrain yourself from things you will regret when it is over.

The latest news there: http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticle09.asp?xfile=data/middleeast/2011/January/middleeast_January692.xml&section=middleeast

This entry was posted in Archaeology, Random odd things, The arts and other odd things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment